The charter management partners are:


  • The Burrenbeo Trust

  • Burren Farming for Conservation Programme

  • Burren IFA

  • Burren Geopark

  • Galway County Council

  • Clare County Council

The charter management commitee is made up of representatives from four Burren organisations, along with the heritage officers for Clare and Galway County Councils.

The Burrenbeo Trust is a conservation charity dedicated to creating a more informed community in the Burren. This is carried out through providing information, education and supporting research on the future sustainable management of the Burren region. Support the work of the Burrenbeo Trust by becoming a member.

Global Geopark status is a UNESCO recognised award earned by unique regions worldwide. It is for regions with outstanding geology and culture that support sustainable development, research, education and cultural heritage, in collaboration with local communities and agencies. The Burren and Cliffs of Moher Geopark will strengthen the local economy and support local communities by working together to create a sustainable tourism destination celebrated for high standards in visitor experience, conservation and learning.

The Burren Farming for Conservation Programme (BFCP) is a unique agri-environmental  programme designed to conserve and support the heritage, environment and communities of the Burren. It is based on the findings of the BurrenLIFE Project (2005-2010) and is jointly funded by the Dept. of Agriculture and the National Parks and Wildlife Service (NPWS).  

The Burren IFA is the main representative body for the farmers of the Burren. The Burren IFA group was established in 1995 as a local branch of the national organisation (the Irish Farmers Association) in order to represent the unique interests of Burren farmers at national level.

Clare County Council is responsible for the provision of services in the administrative area of County Clare, excluding the Ennis and Kilrush urban areas.  Galway County Council is responsible for the administrative area of County Galway, excluding Galway City and Ballinasloe Urban District. The County Councils act as custodians of the environment and through their planning and environment policies seek to enhance their county, while protecting its unique character and atmosphere. They play an active role in the development of their county’s industrial, business, community, social, arts, environmental, tourism, heritage and cultural affairs.

The Burren is a truly unique place - presenting unique challenges and opportunities. The Burren Community Charter aims to allow the Burren community shape its own future, deciding for itself how best to address these challenges and opportunities.

 Got a Question?


Contact Burrenbeo Trust, Charter Administrator on or    

091 638096

What can you do?


Register your support for the Burren Community Charter, email to sign up either as an individual or organisation.